Why I’m switching back to Firefox … eventually

When Firefox first came out, I immediately jumped all over it. It was so much better than IE, it worked so well, had new features, and Internet Explorer had become stale, old, and, dare I say it, uncool, even for a browser.

Over time, though, I switched back to Internet Explorer. With IE7, everything I liked about Firefox was now in IE as well, and of course the convenience of IE being already installed on a system, and it’s quick speedy startup factored in a bit. The thing that really drove me away from Firefox, though, was the loading time in earlier versions of Firefox 2.

 It took me forever to open the darn program. It just would not open, period. It took ridiculously long, and used a whole lot more memory than IE. These problems have since been fixed, but there has not been a compelling reason to switch back.

Wait, scratch that, the compelling reason to have it co-installed on my machine was Firebug. There is a sort of half-assed version of this on IE, which is nice for general inspecting of items and quick CSS edits, but I really like the Javascript editor and debugger. Really cool.

But, with Firefox 3 beta versions out now, I gave it a shot. It’s neat. It’s quick. It’s zippy, and it’s really snazzy. Finally, lots more new features that are nice looking, function well, and are unique to the browser. Exactly the reason I switched to Firefox in the first place!

It seems that Firefox is not becoming stale as IE once did. I do hope that IE8 will come out and wow us with something – a great new interface, new functionality, or ideally both, with compliance issues fixed – but it looks like once Firefox 3 is finalized I might switch!

 I will not switch yet, though. Why? It’s buggy. Believe it or not, I managed, on a friends machine, to get two instances of the same version of Firefox (beta 3) running the same website to render it incorrectly. One window correctly passed the acid2 test. The other didn’t. Consistently. So somehow, in a browser, the same program interpretted the same page differently. For this reason, I will not be switching until the beta tests are over.

But I look forward to the day I can.

3 thoughts on “Why I’m switching back to Firefox … eventually

  1. I always had problems with IE not rendering html/css correctly. Firefox does (or does it much better than IE). Firefox is my favorite because – contrary to IE – it is made by a lot of people listening to people. Not a bucnh of higly paid programmers that obey to their boss. IE7 is still driven by Activex, a whole bunch of it. Last, the memory ‘problem’ with Firefox is ‘cosmetic’only. It does not really use the memory it shows in the task manager.

  2. @volvox

    As a web developer I run into that css problem all the time, too. Firefox and Firefox 2 both still fail the acid2 css test, although much better than IE7 obviously. Firefox 3 also fails in some builds apparently (as I experienced earlier today).

    I completely agree with you for what it’s worth. To be fair to the IE team, though, they have been much more responsive lately. I think that IE can be good again, it will just take some time to get over the wounds of the past, so to speak.

  3. Firefox is crapping out lately on certain operating systems.
    Its real touch and go. Sometimes it good but mostly not… at least not lately.

    Ive been reading your posts on technology and you are right on some things.

    But over all?

    You suck bro

Leave a Reply

